Visa Fees

  Visa Type Fees
Visa  Single-entry $22.00
 Single-entry (India) $6.00
 Multiple and Double-entry  (when possible) $43.00
 Multiple-entry (when possible) (India) $6.00
 Transit (including Double-entry Transit Visa) $5.00
 Transit (India) (including Double-entry Transit Visa) $1.00
 Extension of re-entry permit $22.00
Note: Visa fees are revised on April 1st each year and waived for certain nationalities. We accept exact amount cash, money order, cashier's check made payable to “Consulate General of Japan” or credit card (eVISA ONLY). Personal checks will not be accepted.
In principle, multiple-entry visas are only issued to nationals of countries that have reciprocal arrangements with Japan.

Visa Fee Exemptions

Citizens of the following countries are exempt from paying visa fees:

  • North America
    U.S.A. and Canada

  • Asia
    Bangladesh, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines*, British Nationals Overseas, Hong Kong S.A.R.***, Macao S.A.R.***

  • Central and South America
    Bahamas, Barbados, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Suriname

  • Europe
    Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyztan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania **, Russia, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

  • Africa
    Mauritius, Lesotho

  • Middle East

  • Oceania
    Australia and New Zealand

    *only for Temporary Visitor and Entertainer Visa
    **only for Temporary Visitor and Transit Visa
    ***only for SAR passport holders
    ****If visiting Okinawa, the visa fee may be waived.
    *****The visa fee may be waived, if visiting, living, working or studying in Miyagi, Fukushima or Iwate prefecture.